Our School

The ECU School of Dental Medicine educates North Carolinians to be tomorrow’s solution to the oral healthcare shortfall in our state. We prepare students who are inclined to serve rural and underserved populations, and we teach them using a national model that includes the most modern technology, intensive classroom instruction and hands-on experience at our statewide community service learning centers.

Faculty, students, and residents strive to meet patients where they are, to provide access to care close to their home communities. Our clinics at ECU and centers across the state offer solutions to patients who might otherwise not have access to dental care.


Our school’s main teaching facility is Ledyard E. Ross Hall on ECU’s Health Sciences Campus in Greenville. This 188,000 square-foot facility is named for its benefactor and retired Greenville orthodontist, Dr. Ledyard E. Ross, ECU class of ’51. Ross Hall houses state-of-the-art learning halls, simulation labs, patient clinics, clinical research areas, and faculty and administrative offices.

ECU School of Dental Medicine Facilities

ECU School of Dental Medicine Research Center Virtual Tour

CSLCs Across North Carolina

The State of North Carolina has funded the ECU School of Dental Medicine in building stand-alone dental facilities called community service learning centers (CSLCs) in eight rural and underserved locations, including Ahoskie, Brunswick County, Elizabeth City, Davidson County, Lillington, Robeson County, Spruce Pine, and Sylva.

The centers are staffed by full-time and part-time faculty, residents, fourth-year students, dental hygienists, dental assistants, and business staff. The centers provide hands-on experience for advanced students and residents while also providing access to oral health care for more North Carolinians.


Apple Corporation named the ECU School of Dental Medicine an Apple Distinguished Program due to the innovative implementation of technology in student learning and teledentistry. The American Dental Education Association (ADEA) presented the school with the 2019 William J. Gies Award for Innovation.